The Driver’s Education is designed for people that have never been licensed before or hold a learner’s permit.
Upon completion of this course, you will be eligible to obtain a provisional driver’s license in Maryland.
Sessions are held in the afternoon, evenings and weekends and are scheduled continuously throughout the year. We also offer morning classes during the summer. Courses can usually be completed in as little as four weeks, including the in car training. All students receive 30 hours of classroom training and 6 hours of in car training.
You will learn the foundations for a lifetime of safe driving. The course is broken down to two main area: classroom and in car training.
The 30 hours in the classroom are broken into 10 three hour classes. The first few classes in the session start with an overview the program and the Maryland licensing laws. Then we move on to the role of the driver, the signs and signals that control traffic and the basic tasks that are required to operate a car. We place a big emphasis on the consequences of distracted driving and how to stay safe on the road. After all that we make it out on the road. We talk about what to expect in basic situations as well as expressway driving and how to handle bad weather and vehicle malfunctions.
Finally, we devote two entire classes to the effects of alcohol and other impairments on driving. Students will learn the foundations for a lifetime of safe driving, including:
Mornings: 9:00am – 12:15pm
Afternoons: 1:00pm – 4:15pm
Evenings: 5:00pm – 8:15pm
How much does the class cost?
Tuition for the course varies from students and Adults, but it is generally between $300 and $325. This includes the two-week classroom session, plus the 6 hours of in-car driving lessons. Please be advised, that should you not be very comfortable with driving you should ask to purchase more practice hours of driving before the 6 hours of the School driving hours ends.
Am I required to take Driver’s Ed?
Yes – in Maryland, the law requires all first-time drivers to complete an MVA-certified Driver’s Education course in order to obtain a driver’s license. This rule applies to all Maryland residents, regardless of age.
Do I need a learner’s permit to take the Driver’s Ed class?
You do not need a learner’s permit to start the class – in fact, you can begin the class as early as age 15. Many students find that taking the class first helps them to pass the MVA learner’s permit test later when they apply for a permit. (You can apply for a learner’s permit at the age of 15 and 9 months.)
The course consists of two parts: a classroom portion, and an in-car driving portion. Students may take the classroom portion without a learner’s permit, and then return for the on-the-road training after they have obtained their permit.
How long is the class?
The classroom portion of the course runs for 2 weeks from Monday through Friday (a total of 10 class days). Each class day is 3 hours long plus a 15-minute break. Parents are encouraged to attend the Parent Orientation which is on the first day of class for the first hour and a half.
There are also 3 in-car driving lessons of 2 hours each (a total of 6 in-car hours). Students may choose dates & times for the in-car lessons at any time after the first day of class. If you do not have a learner’s permit when you start the class, you can schedule the driving lessons after you obtain your permit.
How do I register and pay for the class?
You can Register Online to sign up for the Driver’s Education class. You can either pay online with a credit card to hold your reservation, or you may bring payment with you on the first day of class. Shepherds Driving School accepts cash, debit cards and credit cards.
What do I need to bring to class?
On the first day of class, you’ll need to bring the following items:
Identification: either a learner’s permit, birth certificate, or passport
Your tuition payment for the course, if you did not pay in advance
A pen and notebook to take notes
How do I schedule the included in-car lessons?
There are 3 in-car driving lessons of 2 hours each. To schedule those lessons,
please call our office to speak with our scheduling staff.
What happens if I miss a day of class, or if I can’t attend a day?
No problem! You can arrange to make up the day that you missed during a later class. Please be advised that students may not miss more than 4 days of class, however.
MVA policy requires that all students attend the first day of class, so please keep in mind that you cannot miss the first day.